LockBit 採訪

lockbit interview
Written by Wilbur Woodham

LockBit 勒索軟件組織接受了俄羅斯網絡安全通訊社俄羅斯 Osint 的採訪。 超過 50 分鐘的談話讓人們看到了 LockBit 活動的不同方面,以及他們在勒索軟件市場上長期存在的秘密。

鎖比特是誰?

LockBit 是 2019 年出現的勒索軟件團伙。它以精心設計的勒索軟件負載而聞名,由經驗豐富的黑客團隊提供。 該組織不僅以其攻擊的高效率而聞名,而且以其誠實而著稱:他們履行了對文件解密和數據洩露所做的所有承諾。 他們有自己的道德規則:避免攻擊醫療保健和政府組織,並在支付贖金後始終幫助數據恢復。 趕緊說,這不會將它們變成一種美德,也不會減少開發人員的潛在監禁期。

加密後出現的 LockBit 橫幅

加密後出現的 LockBit 橫幅

LockBit 採訪:發現了什麼

對於那些沒有花很多時間閱讀網絡安全報告和查看暗網1論壇的帖子的人來說,這次採訪很有趣,因為這些帖子可以闡明這個勒索軟件組織。 論壇出版物和對確切惡意軟件有效載荷的逆向工程知道了本次採訪中一位開發人員講述的大量事實。 然而,他也談到了一些關於網絡安全共同趨勢的有趣事實,以及他們小組的原則。

整體網絡安全水平保持不變

正如受訪者所說,公司對可能的勒索軟件危害2的關注度很低甚至沒有關注。 他們一直忽略簡單的安全方面,例如使用 RDP 或 VPN 的安全連接,跳過 Microsoft、Adobe、VMware 等提供的更新可利用程序解決方案的提議。 狡猾的欺詐者不能錯過這種魯莽行為,他們可以輕鬆地從這些公司中獲利。

這些騙子如何看待其他勒索軟件組織?

LockBit 不想評論他們與其他團體的關係,也不想對此發表意見。 他們唯一想說的是,他們鄙視那些無視規則以避免攻擊醫院和大學,以及收取贖金而不放棄解密密鑰的團體。

LockBit 2.0 有哪些新變化?

LockBit 2.0 於 2021 年 8 月發布,並在撰寫本文的 9 月初尚未廣泛使用。 正如開發人員所說,他們的勒索軟件的新版本包含以下更新:

  • 更快的加密。 LockBit 已經以極快的加密而聞名,但 v2.0 使它更快。
  • 另一種存儲被盜公司數據的方法。 第一個版本包含竊取病毒負載,它無法將在受感染網絡中發現的數據保存在遠離雲存儲的某個地方。 這導致網絡犯罪分子丟失大量數據:當被攻擊的公司報告雲存儲他們的機密數據被盜並保存在服務器上時,存儲服務通常會禁止騙子的帳戶並將其擦除。 LockBit 2.0 包含能夠將數據直接下載到命令服務器的竊取模塊。
LockBit 2 標誌

LockBit 2.0 標誌

為什麼儲物櫃小組會更名,這種趨勢會持續下去嗎?

“勒索軟件團體沒有理由更改他們的名字,如果他們誠實並且沒有支付贖金但沒有發送解密密鑰的情況。”

受訪者還特別強調了發生上述事件的 AvaddonREvilDarkSide 勒索軟件組織。 LockBit 集團深知形象的代價,所以他們竭盡全力遠離惡名。 是的,他們不認為加密公司數據已經給他們帶來了壞名聲(以及大量法律訴訟)。

如何避免被LockBit攻擊?

  • 僱用一個全職的紅隊(一組滲透測試人員,他們將檢查您的網絡是否存在可能的漏洞)。
  • 盡可能經常更新您的軟件。 這將幫助您防止最愚蠢的注入 – 通過程序中的漏洞。
  • 向您的員工介紹網絡安全規則。 這些規則必須像洗手一樣。
  • 使用適當的防病毒軟件。 沒有圍牆的防禦是不可能的。

當你在一個死角,被你的敵人跟踪時,你會為生命而戰,還是會撤退?

首先,我可能會提出一個很難拒絕的提議。 如果此提議無效 – 為生命而戰。 但實踐表明,金錢能戰勝邪惡。

考慮閱讀: 勒索軟件團伙用來選擇目標的標準.

Wilbur Woodham
Wilbur Woodham
IT Security Expert

It is better to prevent, than repair and repent!

When we talk about the intrusion of unfamiliar programs into your computer’s work, the proverb “Forewarned is forearmed” describes the situation as accurately as possible. Gridinsoft Anti-Malware is exactly the tool that is always useful to have in your armory: fast, efficient, up-to-date. It is appropriate to use it as an emergency help at the slightest suspicion of infection.
Anti-Malware
Gridinsoft Anti-Malware 6-day trial available.
EULA | Privacy Policy | Gridinsoft
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Comments Rating 0 (0 reviews)

References

  1. 黑暗网络: https://zh.wikipedia.org/wiki/%E9%BB%91%E6%9A%97%E7%BD%91%E7%BB%9C
  2. 勒索軟件: https://gridinsoft.com/ransomware
LockBit 採訪
Article
LockBit 採訪
Description
鎖比特是誰? LockBit 採訪:發現了什麼。 這些騙子如何看待其他勒索軟件組織? 為什麼儲物櫃小組會更名,這種趨勢會持續下去嗎?
Author
Copyright
HowToFix.Guide
 

英語 日語 西班牙語

About the author

Wilbur Woodham

I was a technical writer from early in my career, and consider IT Security one of my foundational skills. I’m sharing my experience here, and I hope you find it useful.

Leave a Reply

Sending

這個網站採用 Akismet 服務減少垃圾留言。進一步了解 Akismet 如何處理網站訪客的留言資料

LockBit Interview

lockbit interview
Written by Wilbur Woodham

The LockBit ransomware group gave an interview to the Russian cybersecurity news agency, Russian Osint. More than 50 minutes of talks opened eyes to different aspects of the LockBit activity, as well as to the secret of their long life on the ransomware market.

Who is LockBit?

LockBit is the ransomware gang that appeared in 2019. It is famous for its well-designed ransomware payload, which is delivered by a team of experienced hackers. This group is famous not only for the high efficiency of their attacks, but also for its honesty: they fulfil all promises they make for files decryption and data leaking. They have their own ethical rules: avoid attacking healthcare and governmental organizations and always help with data recovery after the ransom is paid. That does not turn them into a virtue, and doesn’t decrease the potential imprisonment term for their developers, hasten to say.

LockBit banner that appears after the encryption

LockBit banner that appears after the encryption

LockBit interview: what is uncovered

This interview is interesting for everyone who doesn’t spend a lot of time reading the cybersecurity reports and checking the Darknet1 forums for posts that can shed light on this ransomware group. Significant number of facts that were told by one of the developers in this interview were known by the forum publications and reverse-engineering of the exact malware payload. However, he also voiced some interesting facts about common trends in cybersecurity, as well as about the principles of their group.

Overall cybersecurity level remains unchanged

As interviewee says, companies pay low to no attention to possible ransomware hazards2. They keep ignoring the simple security aspects, such as using the secure connections for RDP or VPN, skipping the offers to update the exploitable program solutions from Microsoft, Adobe, VMware and so on. Such recklessness cannot be missed by tricky fraudsters, who can easily make profit on those companies.

What do these crooks think about other ransomware groups?

LockBit does not want to comment on their relations with other groups, as well as doesn’t want to give their opinion on it. The only thing they want to say is that they despise the groups that ignore the rule to avoid attacking the hospitals and universities, as well as taking the ransom money and not giving up the decryption key.

What’s new in LockBit 2.0?

LockBit 2.0 was released in August, 2021, and was not used widely at the beginning of September, when this article was written. As developer says, the new version of their ransomware contains the following updates:

  • Faster encryption. LockBit has already been known for the extremely fast encryption, but v2.0 makes it even faster.
  • Another way to store the stolen corporate data. First version contained the stealer virus payload which was not able to save the data it found in the infected network somewhere away from cloud storages. That caused a lot of data losses by cybercriminals: when attacked companies report the cloud storages that their confidential data is stolen and kept on their servers, storage services usually ban the crooks’ account and wipe it up. LockBit 2.0 contains the stealer module that is able to download the data directly to the command server.
LockBit 2 logo

LockBit 2.0 logo

Why do locker groups change their names and will this trend keep going?

“There is no reason for the ransomware groups to change their name, if they are honest and have no situations when the ransom is paid, but the decryption key is not sent.”

Interviewee also did a special accent on Avaddon, REvil and DarkSide ransomware groups, which had the aforementioned incidents. LockBit group knows the price of image, so they try to do their best to keep away from ill fame. And yes, they don’t think that ciphering the data of the companies is something that already gives them a bad reputation (and tons of legal actions).

How to avoid being attacked by LockBit?

  • Hire a full-time Red Team (the group of pentesters who will examine your network for possible vulnerabilities).
  • Update your software as often as possible. This will help you to prevent the most stupid injections – through the exploits in the programs.
  • Instruct your staff about the rules of cybersecurity. These rules must be a thing like washing your hands.
  • Use the appropriate antivirus software. The defence without walls is not possible.

When you are in a blind corner, followed by your enemy, will you fight for life, or retreat?

First, I will likely make an offer which will be very hard to decline. If this offer gives no effect – fight for life. But as practise shows, money wins the evil.

Consider reading: Criterias that ransomware gangs use to choose their target.

Wilbur Woodham
Wilbur Woodham
IT Security Expert

It is better to prevent, than repair and repent!

When we talk about the intrusion of unfamiliar programs into your computer’s work, the proverb “Forewarned is forearmed” describes the situation as accurately as possible. Gridinsoft Anti-Malware is exactly the tool that is always useful to have in your armory: fast, efficient, up-to-date. It is appropriate to use it as an emergency help at the slightest suspicion of infection.
Anti-Malware
Gridinsoft Anti-Malware 6-day trial available.
EULA | Privacy Policy | Gridinsoft
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Comments Rating 0 (0 reviews)

References

  1. Darknet: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Darknet
  2. Ransomware: https://gridinsoft.com/ransomware
LockBit interview
Article
LockBit interview
Description
Who is LockBit? LockBit interview: what is uncovered. Why do locker groups change their names and will this trend keep going?
Author
Copyright
HowToFix.Guide
 

Japanese Spanish Chinese (Traditional)

About the author

Wilbur Woodham

I was a technical writer from early in my career, and consider IT Security one of my foundational skills. I’m sharing my experience here, and I hope you find it useful.

Leave a Reply

Sending

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.