勒索軟件團伙用來選擇目標的標準

same rules apply robertson
Written by Brendan Smith

勒索軟件是一種極其危險的惡意軟件,它可以突破您的安全機制並加密您的文件。 在採取行動之前,很難確定您的公司是否安全。 但是勒索軟件開發人員發布了他們的目標黑名單——這些公司根據他們的“榮譽準則”的原則被禁止攻擊,這是一個巨大的錯誤。

勒索軟件團體有榮譽嗎?

這聽起來很可笑,但那些騙子有。至少大多數騙子同意避免攻擊屬於重要組織集團的公司。然而,這枚硬幣的另一面是,他們可以確保自己免受安全組織(例如 FBI)的嚴重通緝。事實上,聯邦調查局或其他機構為他們範圍內的每個勒索軟件組都有一個檔案。但極端關注的只是那些實施了嚴重影響國家安全的網絡犯罪的人。

這樣的案例發生在 2021 年 5 月,當時一個 DarkSide 勒索軟件組織攻擊了 Colonial Pipeline 公司。最後一家是美國東海岸最大的成品油供應商,其運營關閉導致東海岸各州燃料嚴重短缺——近 20% 的加油站燃料耗盡,因此關閉。這種情況不僅因為無法為汽車加油而引起不適,還因為汽油價格飆升。行政當局不能忽視如此廣泛的影響,所以他們開始了一場非常積極的反對黑暗面組織的運動。

標準勒索軟件團伙 - Colonial Pipeline

Colonial Pipeline 的贖金記錄

確切地說,該案促使勒索軟件組織創建了1一份“通用”的公司名單,這些公司不得受到攻擊。 免受勒索軟件攻擊的行業是醫療保健行業 (47%)、教育和政府機構 (37%)。 為非營利組織提供的“安全”要少得多:只有 26% 的團伙聲稱他們不會攻擊此類目標。 一些團伙還聲稱,他們將避免攻擊重要的基礎設施公司,例如前面提到的殖民管道。

瞄準靶心:勒索軟件團伙如何選擇目標?

大多數現代勒索軟件團伙都針對公司。 這一事實得到了兩個統計事實的證實:企業支付的贖金與個人支付的贖金總量相比,以及針對企業和個人的新型勒索軟件群體的數量。 事實上,我們可以看到有一個針對個人的嚴重勒索軟件團伙— STOP/Djvu]2 家族。 網絡安全報告稱,大約 70% 以上的針對個人的攻擊是由該組織發起的。 與此同時,以企業為目標的網絡犯罪分子數量龐大,而且每週數量都在增加。

сriterias 勒索軟件組 - 案例圖

以公司為導向的團伙的資金周轉也難以挑戰。 公司支付的單筆贖金可以輕鬆擊敗 1000 名受害者的贖金。 來自公司的一些贖金可能超過每月支付給 STOP/Djvu 家族的贖金:2021 年 3 月,宏碁支付了 5000 萬美元——目前,這是有史以來支付的最高贖金。

英語! 你會說嗎?

通過分析暗網論壇上的帖子,研究人員看到了一個有趣的趨勢。 網絡犯罪分子通常針對來自加拿大 (37%)、歐洲 (31%)、美國 (47%) 和澳大利亞的公司。 之所以會發生這種情況,是因為這些國家的公司更成功:公司發展得越好——支付贖金的機會就越大。

blackmatter 幫派暗網帖子

來自 BlackMatter 勒索軟件團伙的帖子,該團伙尋找提供訪問公司網絡的機會。

當他們幾乎總是禁止獨立國家聯合體 (CIS) 的國家時,就會出現一些疑問 – 許多因素表明大多數勒索軟件都起源於那裡。 但是,該公司總部位於上述國家之一的事實並不是唯一匹配的條件。

危險技術

許多尋求訪問企業網絡的勒索軟件組織都希望獲得使用 VPN 或 RDP 的網絡。 如果設置錯誤,這兩種技術都容易受到惡意軟件滲透。 除了這些網絡技術,黑客們也樂於看到Palo Alto Networks、Cisco、VMware、Citrix等應用軟件廠商的產品。 這種需求很可能是由這些公司的產品中存在大量可用漏洞引起的。 騙子會嘗試使用他們所有的漏洞利用工具來訪問您的網絡。

訪問具有此類特徵的網絡的常見定價約為 56,000 美元,但有時勒索軟件團伙可以將出價提高至 100,000 美元。 奇怪的是,幾乎 45% 的出價如此之高的訪問組是在 2021 年 7 月之後創建的。他們從哪裡獲得這麼多錢? 這個問題引發了很多討論和版本,但仍然沒有正確答案。 它真的存在嗎?

理想受害者的全貌

總結符合規則的勒索軟件集團理想受害者的整體畫像。

特殊情況

一些團體更加註重攻擊有政治或軍事動蕩的部門或國家。 例如,在阿富汗政局變化期間,最後一個國家成為新勒索軟件攻擊案件的主要國家。 2021 年 8 月 5 日至 9 月 4 日期間,網絡安全組織報告稱,所有網絡攻擊中有 1.7% 是針對阿富汗的。 這一份額超過了韓國、巴基斯坦、巴布亞新幾內亞和許多其他公司。 在檢查了這個國家之前的統計數據後,這些數字變得更加鮮明:它的份額不到 0.1%。

考慮閱讀: 過時的勒索軟件是一種威脅.

Brendan Smith
Brendan Smith
IT Security Expert

It is better to prevent, than repair and repent!

When we talk about the intrusion of unfamiliar programs into your computer’s work, the proverb “Forewarned is forearmed” describes the situation as accurately as possible. Gridinsoft Anti-Malware is exactly the tool that is always useful to have in your armory: fast, efficient, up-to-date. It is appropriate to use it as an emergency help at the slightest suspicion of infection.
Anti-Malware
Gridinsoft Anti-Malware 6-day trial available.
EULA | Privacy Policy | Gridinsoft
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Comments Rating 0 (0 reviews)

References

  1. 勒索軟體: https://gridinsoft.com/ransomware
  2. STOP/Djvu 勒索軟件: https://gridinsoft.com/ransomware/djvu
勒索軟件團伙用來選擇目標的標準
Article
勒索軟件團伙用來選擇目標的標準
Description
勒索軟件團體有榮譽嗎? 瞄準靶心:勒索軟件團伙如何選擇目標? 危險的技術。
Author
Copyright
HowToFix.Guide
 

英語 日語 西班牙語

About the author

Brendan Smith

Journalist, researcher, web content developer, grant proposal editor. Efficient and proficient on multiple platforms and in diverse media. Computer technology and security are my specialties.

Leave a Reply

Sending

這個網站採用 Akismet 服務減少垃圾留言。進一步了解 Akismet 如何處理網站訪客的留言資料

Criterias that ransomware gangs use to choose their target

сriterias ransomware target
Written by Brendan Smith

Ransomware is an extremely dangerous type of malware, which can break through your security mechanisms and cipher your files. It is hard to be sure that your company is safe, until the action happens. But ransomware developers make a huge mistake by publishing the blacklist of their targets – companies that are forbidden to attack, based on the principles of their “code of honor”.

Do ransomware groups have honor?

It sounds comical, but those fraudsters have it. At least the majority of crooks agreed to avoid attacking the companies which belong to the group of vital organizations. However, the other side of this coin is that they secure themselves from being seriously wanted by security organizations, such as the FBI, for example. In fact, the Federal Bureau of Investigations or others have a dossier for each ransomware group which is in their range. But the extremal attention is paid only to ones that did a cybercrime which have seriously affected national security.

Such a case took place in May 2021, when a DarkSide ransomware group attacked Colonial Pipeline company. Last one is the largest supplier of refined oil products on the east coast of the U.S. The shutdown of its operations caused significant fuel shortages in the East Coast states – almost 20% of fueling stations were out of fuel and so shut down. This occasion caused not only discomfort because of inability to refuel your car, but also because of the gasoline price surge. So wide effects could not be ignored by the executive authorities, so they have started a very active campaign against the DarkSide group.

сriterias ransomware gangs - Colonial Pipeline

Ransom note for Colonial Pipeline

Exactly, that case pushed the ransomware1 groups to create a “common-for-all” list of companies that must not be attacked. The sectors that are safe from ransomware are the healthcare industry (47%), educational and governmental institutions (37%). Much less “safety” is provided for non-profit organizations: only 26% of gangs claimed that they will not attack such targets. Some of the gangs also claimed that they will avoid attacking the important infrastructural companies, like the aforementioned Colonial Pipeline.

Hitting the bullseye: how ransomware gangs choose their targets?

The majority of modern ransomware gangs aim at corporations. This fact is confirmed by two statistical facts: the overall amount of ransoms paid by corporations compared to ones paid by individuals, and the amount of new ransomware groups that aim at companies and individuals. In fact, we can see that there is a single serious ransomware gang that aims at individuals – STOP/Djvu family2. Cybersecurity reports say about more than 70% of attacks on individuals conducted by that group. Meanwhile, there is a huge amount of cybercriminals who aim at corporations, and each week their amount gets bigger.

сriterias ransomware groups - cases graph

Money turnover of corporations-oriented gangs is also hard to challenge. A single ransom paid by a company can easily beat the ransoms from 1000 individual victims. Some ransoms from corporations can overbeat the monthly amount of ransoms paid to STOP/Djvu family: in March 2021, Acer paid $50 millions – currently, the highest ransom that was ever paid.

English! Do you speak it?

Analyzing the posts on the Darknet forums, the researchers saw an interesting tendention. Cybercriminals generally aim at companies from Canada (37%), Europe (31%), USA (47%) and Australia. That likely happens because of the fact that companies in those countries are more successful: the better the company goes – the more the chance that the ransom will be paid.

blackmatter gang darknet post

Post from BlackMatter ransomware gang, who looks for the offer of access to the corporate network.

Some doubts appear when the fact that they almost always ban the countries of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) – a lot of factors point at the fact that most of ransomware is originated there. But the fact that the company has its headquarters in one of the mentioned countries is not the only condition to be matched.

Dangerous technologies

A lot of ransomware groups who were looking for access to corporate networks wanted to get the network with VPN or RDP usage. Both of these technologies are vulnerable to malware penetration if set up wrong. Besides those networking technologies, hackers are also glad to see the products of Palo Alto Networks, Cisco, VMware, Citrix and other application software producers. Such demand is likely caused by the large number of available vulnerabilities in the products of these companies. Crooks will try to use all their exploits arsenal to get access to your network.

Common pricing for accessing the network with such characteristics is about $56,000, but sometimes ransomware gangs can increase the bid up to $100,000. The peculiar thing hides in the fact that almost 45% of groups that are bidding so high for that access were created after July 2021. Where do they get so much money? This question provokes a lot of discussions and versions, but the correct answer is still absent. And does it exist at all?

overall portrait of the ideal victim

Concluding the overall portrait of the ideal victim for ransomware group which follows the rules.

Special conditions

Some groups have an increased accent on attacking the sectors or countries which have political or military unrest. For example, during the political changes in Afghanistan, the last one became a leading country in new ransomware attack cases. During the period of August 5 – September 4, 2021, cybersecurity organizations reported that 1.7% of all cyber attacks were aimed at Afghanistan. That share outpaces South Korea, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea and many other companies. Those numbers became even more contrasting after checking the previous stats for this country: it had a share of less than 0.1%.

Consider reading: Obsolete ransomware is a threat.

Brendan Smith
Brendan Smith
IT Security Expert

It is better to prevent, than repair and repent!

When we talk about the intrusion of unfamiliar programs into your computer’s work, the proverb “Forewarned is forearmed” describes the situation as accurately as possible. Gridinsoft Anti-Malware is exactly the tool that is always useful to have in your armory: fast, efficient, up-to-date. It is appropriate to use it as an emergency help at the slightest suspicion of infection.
Anti-Malware
Gridinsoft Anti-Malware 6-day trial available.
EULA | Privacy Policy | Gridinsoft
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Comments Rating 0 (0 reviews)

References

  1. Ransomware: https://gridinsoft.com/ransomware
  2. STOP/Djvu ransomware: https://gridinsoft.com/ransomware/djvu
Criterias that ransomware gangs use to choose their target
Article
Criterias that ransomware gangs use to choose their target
Description
Do ransomware groups have honor? Hitting the bullseye: how ransomware gangs choose their targets? Dangerous technologies.
Author
Copyright
HowToFix.Guide
 

Japanese Spanish Chinese (Traditional)

About the author

Brendan Smith

Journalist, researcher, web content developer, grant proposal editor. Efficient and proficient on multiple platforms and in diverse media. Computer technology and security are my specialties.

Leave a Reply

Sending

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.