過時的勒索軟件是一種威脅

obsolete ransomware
Written by Wilbur Woodham

現代形式的勒索軟件1於 2014 年首次被發現,從那時起,網絡犯罪分子已經製作了數百甚至數千種不同的勒索軟件變體。 一些勒索軟件組織目前已關閉,而另一些仍在繼續,有數十種變體不受支持。 然而,勒索軟件始終是勒索軟件——它會加密您的文件並要求支付贖金,即使它是在 3 年前發布的,而且沒有人會檢查該聯繫電子郵件。

過時的勒索軟件:解釋危險

勒索軟件以不同的方式傳播。 首先,針對公司的那些沒有確切的文件源——它是在攻擊過程中被騙子注入的。 但是,針對個人用戶的郵件通常是通過惡意電子郵件垃圾郵件傳播的,或者作為不可信程序的一部分進行傳播。 因此,很容易在 Web 上找到這樣的程序或電子郵件消息,然後單擊它。 沉睡的勒索軟件會很高興醒來並完成其骯髒的工作,對您 PC 上的所有內容進行加密。 當然,它將無法連接到其服務器,但沒有人禁止勒索軟件使用離線密鑰——這將與在線密鑰一樣困難。

勒索軟件已加密用戶的文件

勒索軟件已加密用戶的文件

問題不僅在於存在許多不成熟和不受控制的勒索軟件變體,它們可以加密您的文件而沒有任何機會恢復。 即使使用最新的勒索軟件變種加密後,您也可能等待解密工具發布,甚至支付贖金。 但是對於過時的惡意軟件變體,您可能會比獲得免費解密工具或有關支付贖金後解密的電子郵件的答案變老。

分析勒索軟件統計數據

了解當今有多少勒索軟件和哪種類型正在傳播非常重要。 自 2014 年出現以來,勒索軟件只經歷了局部下降趨勢,事實上,出現了新變種的穩定上升趨勢。 勒索軟件活動的最後一次顯著減少發生在 2021 年初,當時一個大型分發組被網絡警察抓獲。 然而,捕獲分發者並不等於捕獲勒索軟件生產者,以及蒸發所有現有的勒索軟件變種。 之前產生的所有惡意項目仍然很危險,可以在 Internet 上以這種或那種形式找到。

勒索軟件統計 2013-2021

舊統計數據:不多,但仍然很多

在勒索軟件活動的前 4 年中,網絡安全分析師檢測到大約 560 種不同的勒索軟件變體。這些變體屬於不同的系列,其中大部分目前尚未運行。因此,如果您以某種方式在您的 PC 上獲得了這些東西之一 – 沒有人可以幫助您。即使是勒索軟件的早期版本也使用了非常嚴格的解密算法 – AES-256 或 RSA-1028,這些算法無法用蠻力解密。而在那個時候,在關閉後,勒索軟件組織沒有公佈解密密鑰的習慣。如果您被感染,您只需對您的文件說“再見”即可。

在過去的 3 年中,勒索軟件市場變得更加活躍。當然,重點轉移到了企業攻擊上,因為每次攻擊的利潤要高得多。最大的贖金是在 2021 年 3 月從宏碁公司勒索的——公司被迫支付 5000 萬美元。這可能是一個例外——大多數面向企業的惡意軟件組織要求 50,000 到 100 萬美元,具體取決於受攻擊公司的規模。相比之下,個人文件解密的常見贖金為 500 至 3000 美元。

2019-2021年情況

在大流行期間,騙子變得非常活躍。 勒索軟件活動激增,公司和個人都遭受了極大的攻擊。 目標的上述類型的勒索軟件得到了他們不變的領導者 – 公司的 Conti group 組(約佔所有提交的 28%)和個人用戶的 STOP/Djvu(幾乎所有案例的 75%)。 雖然在 2014-2018 年期間,分析師表示每天大約有一個新的勒索軟件變體,但現在他們每天可以看到 2-4 個變體。 STOP/Djvu 家族每 3-4 天就會發布一次其“產品”的新變體,即使在周末也是如此。

宏碁公司的贖金票據

宏碁公司的贖金票據

關於 2019-2021 年期間新的勒索軟件變種總數沒有嚴格統計。但我們可以試著計算一下:假設新變種的數量為每天 1.5 個(考慮到勒索軟件活動不穩定,2019 年普遍較低)。將其乘以 974 天(從 2019 年 1 月 1 日算起)並獲得 1461 個勒索軟件變體的數量。當然,這個數字並不准確,必須更正,但網絡安全分析師現在專注於預防勒索軟件案例,而不是統計數據。在 2014-2018 年,當計算機世界對這種惡意軟件類型感到震驚時,分析師唯一能做的就是收集盡可能多的信息——以便了解騙子的行為方式以及安全漏洞在哪裡。但現在,是他們採取行動的時候了。

但是讓我們完成我們的計算。 1461 變種僅在過去三年中出現,我們還有約 560 種更舊的勒索軟件變種。目前總共存在大約兩千種不同的勒索軟件變種,您永遠不知道是否有一個隱藏在您嘗試下載的程序中。

事情並沒有那麼糟糕

2000 勒索軟件變種是一個可怕的數字,但正確理解這個數字很重要。 勒索軟件越老,在任何地方找到它的機會就越少。 即使在 Torrent 跟踪器上,如 ThePirateBay 或 Rarbg,版主也會檢查被報告的惡意內容的種子,如果這些報告屬實,則將其刪除。 其他用於分發勒索軟件的網站被反惡意軟件禁止,如果其維護者被抓獲,也會被關閉。 對於當前活躍的勒索軟件組(例如 STOP/Djvu 或 Xorist)的大多數過時版本,都有免費提供的解密工具。

emsisoft 解密器

最好專注於更實際的勒索軟件危害,這些危害使用更棘手的方法注入您的系統。 模仿銀行消息的垃圾電子郵件2,在 Discord 組中提供測試“新程序”的機會 – 所有這些方法的使用不僅僅是因為騙子有很好的想像力。 用戶變得越來越聰明,不能像 2018 年一樣被同樣的提示所欺騙。因此,為了避免突然丟失所有文件,幾乎必須在瀏覽不受信任的站點時小心謹慎,並保持良好的狀態。 PC 上的反惡意軟件解決方案。

考慮閱讀: 如何禁用或刪除瀏覽器擴展?.

Wilbur Woodham
Wilbur Woodham
IT Security Expert

It is better to prevent, than repair and repent!

When we talk about the intrusion of unfamiliar programs into your computer’s work, the proverb “Forewarned is forearmed” describes the situation as accurately as possible. Gridinsoft Anti-Malware is exactly the tool that is always useful to have in your armory: fast, efficient, up-to-date. It is appropriate to use it as an emergency help at the slightest suspicion of infection.
Anti-Malware
Gridinsoft Anti-Malware 6-day trial available.
EULA | Privacy Policy | Gridinsoft
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Comments Rating 0 (0 reviews)

References

  1. 勒索軟體: https://zh.wikipedia.org/wiki/%E5%8B%92%E7%B4%A2%E8%BB%9F%E9%AB%94
  2. 垃圾電郵: https://zh.wikipedia.org/wiki/%E5%9E%83%E5%9C%BE%E9%9B%BB%E9%83%B5

英語 日語 西班牙語

About the author

Wilbur Woodham

I was a technical writer from early in my career, and consider IT Security one of my foundational skills. I’m sharing my experience here, and I hope you find it useful.

Leave a Reply

Sending

這個網站採用 Akismet 服務減少垃圾留言。進一步了解 Akismet 如何處理網站訪客的留言資料

Obsolete ransomware is a threat

obsolete ransomware
Written by Wilbur Woodham

Ransomware1 in its modern shape was first detected in 2014, and since then cybercriminals have produced hundreds or even thousands of different ransomware variants. Some ransomware groups are currently shut down, and some are still going, having dozens of unsupported variants. However, ransomware is always ransomware – it will encrypt your files and ask for a ransom payment even though it was released 3 years ago, and no one will check that contact email.

Obsolete ransomware: explaining the danger

Ransomware is distributed in different ways. Primarily, those aimed at corporations do not have the exact file source – it is injected during the attack by crooks. But those aimed at individual users are usually spread through malicious email spam or as a part of an untrustworthy program. Hence, it is straightforward to find such a program or email message on the Web and click on it. The sleeping ransomware will be glad to wake up and do its filthy job, ciphering everything you have on your PC. Sure, it will not be able to connect to its servers, but no one prohibits the ransomware from using an offline key – that will be as hard as the online one.

ransomware have encrypted the user’s files

ransomware have encrypted the user’s files

And the problem is not only in the fact that there are a lot of outdated and uncontrolled ransomware variants, which can cipher your files without any chances for getting back. Even after being encrypted with the newest ransomware variant, you may wait for the decryption tool to be released or even pay the ransom. But for the obsolete malware variants, you will likely turn old than get a free decryption tool or the answer on your email about the decryption after the ransom payment.

Analyzing the ransomware statistics

It is important to know how much ransomware and of which type is circulating nowadays. Since its appearance in 2014, ransomware was experiencing only local downtrends, having, in fact, a stable uptrend for new variants appearing. The last significant decrease in ransomware activity took place at the beginning of 2021, when a large distribution group was caught by cyber police. However, capturing the distributors is not equal to capturing the ransomware producers and vaporizing all existing ransomware variants. All malicious items produced earlier are still dangerous and can be found on the Internet, in this or that form.

ransomware statistic 2013-2021

Old statistic: not so much, but still a lot

During the first 4 years of ransomware activity, cybersecurity analysts detected about 560 different ransomware variants. Those variants belong to different families, and most of them are currently not operating. Hence, if you somehow got one of these things on your PC – no one can help you. Even the early versions of ransomware used pretty tough decryption algorithms – AES-256 or RSA-1028, which are impossible to decrypt with brute force. And in those times, after the shutdown, ransomware groups did not have a habit of publishing the decryption keys. If you are getting infected, you can say “bye” to your files.

Through the last 3 years, the ransomware market became even more active. Sure, the accent was moved to corporate attacks since it is much more profitable per single attack. The biggest ransom was extorted from Acer corporation in March 2021 – the company was forced to pay $50 million. That is likely an exclusion – the majority of corporation-oriented malware groups ask for $50,000 – $1 million, depending on the size of the attacked company. To compare, the common ransom for the file decryption for the individuals is $500 – $3000.

Situation in 2019-2021

During the pandemic, crooks became extremely active. Ransomware activity surged, both companies and individuals suffered an extreme amount of attacks. Aforementioned types of ransomware by their targets got their unchanging leaders – Conti group for companies (about 28% of all submissions) and STOP/Djvu for individual users (almost 75% of all cases). While from 2014 to 2018, analysts said about one new ransomware variant each day, nowadays they can see 2-4 variants every new day. STOP/Djvu family alone publishes the new variant of its “product” each 3-4 days, even on the weekends.

Ransom note for Acer corporation

Ransom note for Acer corporation

There is no strict statistic about the total number of new ransomware variants in the 2019-2021 period. But we can try to calculate it: let’s take the number of new variants as 1.5 per day (taking into account that ransomware activity is not stable and was generally lower in 2019). Multiplying it on the 974 days (counting from January 1, 2019) and getting 1461 ransomware variants. Of course, this number is inaccurate and must be corrected, but cybersecurity analysts are now concentrating on preventing ransomware cases rather than statistics. In 2014-2018, when the computer world was horrified with this malware type, the only thing that analysts could do was collect as much information as they could to understand how crooks act and where the security breaches are. But now, it is their time to act.

But let’s finish our calculations. 1461 variants have appeared just in the last three years, and we also have ~560 variants of more old ransomware. In total, about two thousands of different ransomware variants are currently present, and you never know if one hides in the program, you are trying to download.

Things are not so bad

2000 ransomware variants is a scary number, but it is important to understand that number properly. The older the ransomware, the less the chance that you can find it wherever. Even on the torrent trackers, like ThePirateBay or Rarbg, moderators check the seedings that are reported for malicious contents and remove them if those reports are true. Other websites used to distribute ransomware are getting banned by anti-malware software and getting shut down if their maintainers are captured. For the majority of obsolete versions of currently active ransomware groups (STOP/Djvu or Xorist, for example), there are the decryption tools available for free.

emsisoft decryptor

It is better to concentrate on more actual ransomware hazards, that use much more tricky ways to be injected into your system. Email spam2 that mimics the messages from your bank, offers in the Discord groups to test “the new program” – all these methods are used not just because crooks have a good imagination. Users became smarter and smarter and cannot be tricked with the same hints as in 2018. Hence, to be safe from a sudden loss of all of your files, it is almost obligatory to be careful while browsing the untrusted sites and to have a good anti-malware solution on your PC.

Consider reading: How to disable or remove browser extensions?.

Wilbur Woodham
Wilbur Woodham
IT Security Expert

It is better to prevent, than repair and repent!

When we talk about the intrusion of unfamiliar programs into your computer’s work, the proverb “Forewarned is forearmed” describes the situation as accurately as possible. Gridinsoft Anti-Malware is exactly the tool that is always useful to have in your armory: fast, efficient, up-to-date. It is appropriate to use it as an emergency help at the slightest suspicion of infection.
Anti-Malware
Gridinsoft Anti-Malware 6-day trial available.
EULA | Privacy Policy | Gridinsoft
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Comments Rating 0 (0 reviews)

References

  1. Ransomware: https://gridinsoft.com/ransomware
  2. Email spam: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Email_spam
Obsolete ransomware is a threat
Article
Obsolete ransomware is a threat
Description
Obsolete ransomware: explaining the danger. It is important to know how much ransomware and of which type is circulating nowadays.
Author
Copyright
HowToFix.Guide
 

Japanese Spanish Chinese (Traditional)

About the author

Wilbur Woodham

I was a technical writer from early in my career, and consider IT Security one of my foundational skills. I’m sharing my experience here, and I hope you find it useful.

Leave a Reply

Sending

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.