每 5 名俄羅斯公民都想成為一名黑客

russian hackers
Written by Wilbur Woodham

ESET 的一項最新研究發現了一些有關俄羅斯人對黑客行為看法的有趣事實。很多因素清楚地表明,大多數黑客組織都有俄羅斯(或者至少是獨聯體)血統,因此這個統計數據並沒有那麼令人震驚。儘管如此,俄羅斯人似乎對黑客和黑客1有強烈的偏見。

ESET研究:20%的俄羅斯人想成為黑客

這看起來並不現實,但俄羅斯人認為他們對黑客和黑客活動了解很多。至少,84% 的受訪者投了贊成票。很奇怪,這麼多俄羅斯人確信他們知道黑客在做什麼。根據最新研究,大約 17% 的俄羅斯人仍然沒有互聯網連接,並且大約同樣數量的人不經常使用電腦。那麼為什麼 ESET 同意這些結果呢?在那些至少經常使用 PC 的人中,並不是每個人都知道系統是如何工作的,更甚者——了解黑客。當然,除了這些有爭議的統計數據外,大約 20%(每五分之一)的俄羅斯人表示他們希望成為黑客——原因不明。他們甚至了解黑客工具或匿名性嗎?

俄羅斯黑客 - 最受歡迎的黑客工具之一的界面 - Mimikatz

最受歡迎的黑客工具之一的界面 – Mimikatz.

但這並不是公佈的測驗結果中唯一奇怪的事情。除了俄羅斯距離最受攻擊國家名單的榜首還很遠之外,這個國家的人大多對黑客和黑客行為持負面看法。但是,喜歡黑客行為的人數也非常多:大約有 47% 的受訪者這麼認為。我們可以認為實際上受訪者被劃分為 50/50,因為 3% 的差異在統計誤差範圍內。

俄羅斯人如何看待黑客的動機?

很明顯,所有黑客的主要動機都是金錢。對他們來說不太重要的是名氣,但現在很多黑客組織都試圖盡可能少地引起人們的注意。可能是 FBI 和其他行政當局抓獲的一系列騙子的結果。俄羅斯受訪者肯定了解這一趨勢 – 近 40% 的受訪者表示唯一的目標是勒索錢財2。但是,大約 18% 的人提到黑客也可以充當滲透測試者,尋找企業網絡內部的漏洞。

俄羅斯黑客 - Phobos 勒索軟件集團

Phobos 勒索軟件集團的勒索信 – 官方確認該集團來自俄羅斯

受訪者還表現出對攻擊目標的了解程度非常低。 84% 的人表示網絡攻擊是在網站上發起的。現代黑客的主要目標可能是企業網絡這一事實被忽略了——可能是因為俄羅斯在勒索軟件組織中不受歡迎。當然,網站也受到攻擊——至少是因為它更容易被黑客入侵。但是騙子是為了錢而做他們的工作 – 這與網站黑客行為存在爭議。你仍然會因網絡犯罪而受到指責,並支付巨額罰款或被監禁,但金額是無與倫比的。為錢而黑客網站就像用他口袋裡的五美元毆打拾荒者 – 壞的,不道德的,刑事處罰的,而且極其無利可圖。

請注意本指南: 勒索軟件團伙用來選擇目標的標準

假設俄羅斯測驗

ESET 做得很好 – 沒有任何諷刺,這個測驗非常龐大和有趣。儘管如此,他們並沒有對俄羅斯的特殊性做出更正。這個國家非常大,住在莫斯科的人和住在漢特-曼西斯克的人的生活習慣差別很大。詢問居住在俄羅斯西部的人們的意見,然後將收到的統計數據擴展到整個國家是不可能的。然而,一些結果仍然具有代表性——並且說明了這個國家計算機知識的質量。老實說,我想知道現在活躍的很多網絡犯罪分子都來自俄羅斯——計算機知識水平如此之低。但這只會讓這些黑客更加光榮——作為自學成才的人,擁有如此高的資格,可以讓他們恐嚇整個世界,值得尊重。但不會減少他們的監禁期。

各國在惡意軟件市場份額的統計

各國惡意軟件市場份額統計

考慮閱讀: T在 Windows 11 上需要知道的事情

Wilbur Woodham
Wilbur Woodham
IT Security Expert

It is better to prevent, than repair and repent!

When we talk about the intrusion of unfamiliar programs into your computer’s work, the proverb “Forewarned is forearmed” describes the situation as accurately as possible. Gridinsoft Anti-Malware is exactly the tool that is always useful to have in your armory: fast, efficient, up-to-date. It is appropriate to use it as an emergency help at the slightest suspicion of infection.
Anti-Malware
Gridinsoft Anti-Malware 6-day trial available.
EULA | Privacy Policy | Gridinsoft

@topcybersecuritySubscribe to our Telegram channel to be the first to know about news and our exclusive materials on information security.

Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Comments Rating 0 (0 reviews)

References

  1. 黑客: https://zh.wikipedia.org/wiki/%E9%BB%91%E5%AE%A2
  2. 勒索錢財: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Extortion
每 5 名俄羅斯公民都想成為一名黑客
Article
每 5 名俄羅斯公民都想成為一名黑客
Description
ESET 研究:20% 的俄羅斯人想成為黑客。 俄羅斯人如何看待黑客的動機? 假設俄羅斯測驗。
Author
Copyright
HowToFix.Guide
 

英語 日語 西班牙語

About the author

Wilbur Woodham

I was a technical writer from early in my career, and consider IT Security one of my foundational skills. I’m sharing my experience here, and I hope you find it useful.

Leave a Reply

Sending

這個網站採用 Akismet 服務減少垃圾留言。進一步了解 Akismet 如何處理網站訪客的留言資料

Each 5th russian citizen wants to became a hacker

russian hackers
Written by Wilbur Woodham

One of the latest ESET research uncovered some interesting facts about Russians’ opinion on hacking. A lot of factors showed clearly that the majority of hacker groups have Russian (or, at least, CIS) origins, thus this statistic was not so shocking. Nonetheless, it seems that Russians have a strong bias for hacking and hackers1 at all.

ESET research: 20% of Russians want to become a hacker

It does not look realistic, but people in Russia assume that they know a lot about hacking and hackers’ activity. At least, 84% of respondents voted so. It is pretty strange that so many Russian people are sure that they know what hackers do. According to the latest research, about 17% of Russians still do not have an Internet connection, and about the same number do not use computers regularly. So why do ESET agree with these results? Among those who at least use PCs regularly, not each person knows about how the system works and even more so – about hackers. And sure, besides such controversial statistics, about 20% (each fifth) of Russians said that they wish to be hackers – for undefined reasons. Do they even know something about hacktools or anonymity?

russian hacker - Interface of one of the most popular hacktools - Mimikatz.

Interface of one of the most popular hacktools – Mimikatz.

But that is not the only strange thing in the published quiz results. Besides the fact that Russia is very far from the top of the list of most attacked countries, people in this country mostly have negative opinions about hackers and hacking. However, the amount of ones who like what hackers do is also very high: about 47% of respondents think so. We can consider that in fact the respondents were divided as 50/50, since the difference of 3% lies in the range of statistical error.

What do Russians think about the hackers’ motivation?

It is obvious that the main motivation of all hackers is money. Less critical thing for them is fame, but a lot of hacker groups nowadays try to attract as little attention as possible. Possibly, it is a result of a chain of crooks captured by the FBI and other executive authorities. Russian respondents surely understand this trend – almost 40% of respondents said that the only target is money extortion2. But well, about 18% of people mentioned that hackers can also act as a pentesters, looking for breaches inside of the corporate networks.

russian hacker - Phobos ransomware group

Ransom note of Phobos ransomware group – it was officially confirmed that this group acts from Russia

The respondents also showed a very low level of knowledge about the target of attacks. 84% said that cyber attacks are commenced on websites. The fact that the main target of modern hackers is likely corporate networks is ignored – likely because Russia is unpopular among ransomware groups. Sure, sites are also under attack – at least because it is much easier to hack. But crooks do their job for money – and this is controversial with website hacking. You still will be blamed for a cybercrime, and pay a huge fine or be imprisoned, but the amounts of money are incomparable. Hacking sites for money is like beating up a scavenger for five dollars he has in his pocket – bad, amoral, criminally punishable, and extremely unprofitable.

Pay attention to this guide: Criterias that ransomware gangs use to choose their target

Assuming the Russian quiz

ESET did a great job – without any sarcasm, this quiz was quite massive and interesting. Nonetheless, they did not make the correction on the specificity of Russia. This country is extremely large, and the life habits of a man who lives in Moscow and one living in Khanty-Mansiysk differs very much. It is impossible to ask the opinion of the people living in Western Russia and then expand the received statistics on the whole country. However, some of the results were still representative – and say a lot about the quality of computer knowledge in this country. Honestly, I am wondering that a lot of cybercriminals that are active nowadays are from Russia – with computer knowledge level being so low. But that only makes more honor to these hackers – being self-educated persons with such high qualifications that allows them to terrorize the whole world deserves the respect. But does not decrease their imprisonment terms.

statistics for countries’ shares on malware market

The statistics for countries’ shares on malware market

Consider reading: Things to know on Windows 11

Wilbur Woodham
Wilbur Woodham
IT Security Expert

It is better to prevent, than repair and repent!

When we talk about the intrusion of unfamiliar programs into your computer’s work, the proverb “Forewarned is forearmed” describes the situation as accurately as possible. Gridinsoft Anti-Malware is exactly the tool that is always useful to have in your armory: fast, efficient, up-to-date. It is appropriate to use it as an emergency help at the slightest suspicion of infection.
Anti-Malware
Gridinsoft Anti-Malware 6-day trial available.
EULA | Privacy Policy | Gridinsoft

@topcybersecuritySubscribe to our Telegram channel to be the first to know about news and our exclusive materials on information security.

Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Comments Rating 0 (0 reviews)

References

  1. Hacker: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hacker
  2. Extortion: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Extortion
Each 5th russian citizen wants to became a hacker
Article
Each 5th russian citizen wants to became a hacker
Description
ESET research: 20% of Russians want to become a hacker. What do Russians think about the hackers’ motivation? Assuming the Russian quiz.
Author
Copyright
HowToFix.Guide
 

Japanese Spanish Chinese (Traditional)

About the author

Wilbur Woodham

I was a technical writer from early in my career, and consider IT Security one of my foundational skills. I’m sharing my experience here, and I hope you find it useful.

Leave a Reply

Sending

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.