How to Delete TikTok Account or Deactivate It Temporarily

delete TikTok
Written by Wilbur Woodham

We use a lot of different social networks; we need them to communicate, advertise our brand, promote some topic, and much more. But once a new platform in social networks appears, we immediately want to try it. To get rid of old accounts, you need to understand what data will remain on the web and which will permanently disappear; you need instructions.

We will provide you with information on deleting the TikTok account in that article. You may have many reasons for this – it’s also a matter of privacy – and maybe you don’t like just watching short videos, or you want to move to another format and stuff.

Note: After you delete your current account, all your data, videos, emails, and so on will disappear without a trace. Will save only videos uploaded by other users, so if you all want to keep some data before deleting your account, back it up.

Facts to Know Before Deleting Account

You need to know that you don’t need to manually delete every message in the “Inbox” folder or video in your profile when you delete it. You only need to delete your account, and then everything on it is permanently deleted.

RELATED CONTENT
Are you facing a problem and don’t know how to delete your Amazon account or don’t understand how to stop your LinkedIn account? Then read our tutorials with detailed information.

How to Back Up Data Before Deleting

Your profile has data you don’t want to lose, this video, your activity, and your profile. Then it would help if you backed up all of this. See the steps below for this action:

  1. TikTok on the web browser and log into your account.
  2. On the top right, press on your profile picture and choose “Settings”.
  3. Press “Data” to access the “Download TikTok data” page in the Privacy section.
    TikTok settings
  4. On the “Request data” tab (it’s chosen by default) under “Select file” format, decide whether you’d like the data: TXT(human-readable text file) or JSON(machine-readable) format. Next, press “Request data”.

After all of the above steps, we will process your request for backup; it may take about a couple of days. Once a copy is ready, it will appear in your “Download Data” section on the TikTok page, where you can save it. We would like to remind you that it is very important to follow the tips to protect your personal data1 in social networks or on a PC.

Note: Save your backup within four days. Otherwise, you will have to do all of the above steps anew.

How to delete a TikTok Video Account

After you decide what to do with your data: back up or not, you have to go through the removal phase. Below we consider the simple steps to do this:

On mobile

  1. Go to the TikTok app, in the bottom right-hand corner of the app click the Profile button.
  2. In the top-right corner of the screen click the three-lines menu. Choose “Settings and privacy”.
  3. From the list of options click “Manage account”.
  4. Click the last option “Delete account”.
  5. Next, follow the on-screen prompts, to verify your decision click “Continue” again.

After that, your account is deleted, you should only uninstall the app on your phone, and TikTok will no longer bother you.

A quick tip: There is one piece of good news! After deleting, your account will be in deactivation mode for 30 days. What does that mean? It entitles you to activate your account during this time if you change your mind about permanently deleting it.

USEFUL NOTE
Clicking on Tiktok-flow ads can lead to the introduction of various malicious or unwanted programs. Read on for helpful tips and tricks on the subject.

On a Web Browser

If you are using a web browser when you uninstall your TikTok account, then follow the instructions below:

  1. Enter your account from the browser.
  2. On the top right, press on your profile picture and choose “Settings”.
  3. Tap “Delete” on the request under “Account Control”.
    delete TikTok account

Why Can’t I Delete a TikTok Account?

TikTok may not always respond to your deletion request. Do not think your account will remain stuck in the Internet space. It is not. You need to find a problem we can’t delete because of.

USEFUL NOTE
Remove Tiktok-fun.com Pop-up Ads: tips, recommendations, useful facts for users.

There is an explanation for all this. The most common problem is incorrectly entering user contact information. It means that you entered your email address or contact number incorrectly. Please check the moment. It can also be that the app itself does not respond to the request; then, you should sort out the reboot app and continue to try to delete your account.

Wilbur Woodham
Wilbur Woodham
IT Security Expert

It is better to prevent, than repair and repent!

When we talk about the intrusion of unfamiliar programs into your computer’s work, the proverb “Forewarned is forearmed” describes the situation as accurately as possible. Gridinsoft Anti-Malware is exactly the tool that is always useful to have in your armory: fast, efficient, up-to-date. It is appropriate to use it as an emergency help at the slightest suspicion of infection.
Anti-Malware
Gridinsoft Anti-Malware 6-day trial available.
EULA | Privacy Policy | Gridinsoft

@topcybersecuritySubscribe to our Telegram channel to be the first to know about news and our exclusive materials on information security.

Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Comments Rating 0 (0 reviews)

References

  1. 10 Working Tips to Protect Your Personal Data: https://gridinsoft.com/blogs/protect-your-personal-data/
How to Delete TikTok Account or Deactivate It Temporarily
Article
How to Delete TikTok Account or Deactivate It Temporarily
Description
Facts to Know Before Deleting Account. How to delete a TikTok Video Account. Why Can’t I Delete a TikTok Account?
Author
Copyright
HowToFix.Guide
 

German

About the author

Wilbur Woodham

I was a technical writer from early in my career, and consider IT Security one of my foundational skills. I’m sharing my experience here, and I hope you find it useful.

Leave a Reply

Sending

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.